International Festival of Authors 2011

Tonight’s PEN Canada Benefit marks the start of the 32nd annual International Festival of Authors at the Harbourfront Centre in Toronto. Renowned designer and innovator Bruce Mau will be interviewed by the CBC’s Mary Hynes, and images of his work will be featured, as well.

Tickets are $50 ($20 for students) and all proceeds go to PEN Canada, an organization committed to defending the freedom of expression of writers, in Canada and internationally, who have been forced into silence for writing the truth as they see it.

I’ll be among the PEN Canada volunteers there, so drop by and say hello if you come out to join us. If you can’t make it to the benefit, you still have lots of chances to check out the festival as there are more than 50 readings and events between now and the end of October!

You can download a PDF schedule of all the readings and events here. This year’s lineup is as strong as ever, featuring a pantheon of excellent writers. You’re sure to find some of your favourites in the list of participants below.

Authors Participating in the 32nd IFOA:

Elizabeth Abbott
Siri Agrell
Shelley Ambrose
Bert Archer
Edem Awumey
Ken Babstock
Anita Rau Badami
Garvia Bailey
Brent Bambury
Russell Banks
Linwood Barclay
Gary Barwin
Kate Beaton
Steven W. Beattie
Gal Beckerman
Peter Behrens
David Bezmozgis
Alan Bissett
Clark Blaise
Paulette Bourgeois
Joseph Boyden
Kyle Buckley
Stevie Cameron
Kate Cassaday
James Chatto
Michael Christie
Brenda Clark
Stephen Clarke
Daniel Clowes
Lynn Coady
Susan G. Cole
Irwin Cotler
Douglas Coupland
Julia Creet
Richard Crouse
Rana Dasgupta
Lauren B. Davis
Lewis DeSoto
Suzanne Desrochers
Patrick deWitt
Claudia Dey
Joe Dunthorne
Esi Edugyan
Yvvette Edwards
Marina Endicott
Anne Enright
Nuruddin Farah
Will Ferguson
Peter Filkins
Jim Fleck
Charles Foran
Brian Francis
Niels Frank
Christopher Frey
Zsuzsi Gartner
Larry Gaudet
Gary Geddes
Jian Ghomeshi
Amitav Ghosh
Douglas Gibson
Rachel Giese
David Gilmour
Brooke Gladstone
Rodge Glass
Dr. Brian Goldman
Francisco Goldman
Michal Govrin
Shilpi Somaya Gowda
Wayne Grady
James Grainger
Linda Grant
Roger Greenwald
Conor Grennan
Danielle Groen
Lev Grossman
David A. Groulx
Richard Gwyn
Jennifer Haigh
Chad Harbach
Peter Harris
Johan Harstad
Elizabeth Hay
Dermot Healy
Jesse Hirsh
David Homel
Polly Horvath
C.C. Humphreys
Helen Humphreys
Glen Huser
Nancy Huston
Mary Hynes
Kirstin Innes
Frances Itani
Mary Ito
Heather Jessup
Wayne Johnston
Stephen Kelman
Vish Khanna
Lauren Kirshner
Joshua Knelman
Dany Laferrière
Lazer Lederhendler
Prue Leith
Martin Levin
Michael Lista
Lesley Livingston
Nicole Lundrigan
Stuart MacBride
John Macfarlane
Margaret MacMillan
Rabindranath Maharaj
Lee Maracle
Sandra Martin
Patricia Marx
Bruce Mau
Ben McNally
Tessa McWatt
Mark Medley
Janine Messadié
Bruce Meyer
Denise Mina
Erin Morgenstern
Kim Moritsugu
Nick Mount
Bharati Mukherjee
Riel Nason
Peter Nesselroth
Carol Off
Michael Ondaatje
Katrina Onstad
Seamus O’Regan
Helen Oyeyemi
Louise Patten
Tom Perrotta
Alison Pick
Ruth Roach Pierson
Thomas Pletzinger
Andrew Pyper
Sina Queyras
Ian Rankin
Kathy Reichs
Gayla Reid
David Adams Richards
Josh Ritter
Peter Robinson
Damian Rogers
Shelagh Rogers
Emma Ruby-Sachs
Justin Rutledge
Dr. Michael Schneider
John Burnham Schwartz
Olive Senior
Clay Shirky
Gary Shteyngart
Rachel Simon
Johanna Skibsrud
Lori Starr
Zoë Strachan
Meaghan Strimas
Susan Swan
H. Masud Taj
Mariko Tamaki
Drew Hayden Taylor
Timothy Taylor
John Terpstra
Souvankham Thammavongsa
Madeleine Thien
Paula Todd
Miriam Toews
Becky Toyne
Simon Toyne
Sylvia Tyson
Jane Urquhart
Guy Vanderhaeghe
Marieke van der Pol
Vikki VanSickle
Dan Vyleta
Eleanor Wachtel
Zachariah Wells
Andrew Westoll
Colson Whitehead
Harry Whitehead
Nathan Whitlock
Zoe Whittall
D.W. Wilson
Sarah Winman
Meg Wolitzer
Daniel Woodrell
Stuart Woods
Kyle Carsten Wyatt
Nora Young
Alexi Zentner

This entry was posted in Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.